FAN President Election: Results

The term of the current President of the Forum of National Archivists (FAN), Jeff James, comes to an end in 2023. A call for nominations was launched to elect a new FAN President for the 2023-2025 term. Three (3) complete applications were received, an election was held, and the two (2) leading candidates received the same number of votes. 

The Evaluation Commission, together with the current President of FAN (Jeff James) and the ICA President (Josée Kirps), recommended a second round of voting between the first two candidates. Voting opened on 4 August 2023 and ended on 27 August 2023 at 23:59 CET and was carried out via LimeSurvey.  

The ballot counting took place on 28 August 2023 by a member of ECOM. The results were as follows: 

Candidates Total Number of Votes  Percentage of Votes
Simon Froude 27  44,26 %
Rita Tjien Fooh   33  54,10%
Blank vote  1 1,64% 
Total  61  100,00%

Based on these results, the President of the Forum of National Archivists (FAN) 2023-2025 will be: 

  • Rita Tjien Fooh  

The elected candidate will remain designated as FAN President – Elect until the ICA Abu Dhabi Congress 2023, at which point the two-year term of office shall begin. 

Congratulations to the new FAN President!